Launch of C Photo – Slow Motion


Marta Gili, director of Jeu de Paume, Paris and guest editor of this volume, presented C Photo 5: Slow Motion on 30 November at 7:00 p.m., along with Antonio Sanz, Ivorypress director, and Iñaki Domingo, Ivorypress publications coordinator and co-editor of C Photo.

The fifth volume of C Photo features a selection of photographic essays that meticulously analyse and arrange the results of a carefully slowed-down observation that travels around the event’s periphery. These works show the tension between synchronic and asynchronous time and turn the indifference inherent to the image into an alternative narration that allows us to look at time itself from both the inside and the outside. Through the immersion in the realm of urgency they help us take the necessary distance so that the world can be restored again, patiently.

The portfolios selected include: Alinka Echeverría, Paul Graham, Rob Honstra, Carlos Irijalba, Jochen Lempert, Zoe Leonard, Santu Mofokeng, Mathieu Pernot, Sophie Ristelhueber, Ahlam Shibli, Bertien van Manen, and Raffael Waldner.